How to install macOS on old and discontinued Macs

Install macOS 14 (Sonoma) on your unsupported Mac

Saeed Zarinfam
3 min readNov 13, 2023

With the release of each new version of macOS, Apple stops supporting many older Macs. As I mentioned in my recent story about upgrading my Intel-based Macbook Pro to macOS Sonoma, many Mac models from 2017 and earlier do not get any official updates to macOS 14 (Sonoma) anymore.

So, the question is, is there any unofficial way to install the newer macOS versions on old and discontinued Macs? In this short story, we will get to know a project called OpenCore Legacy Patcher that allows older Macs to run newer versions of macOS.

What is OpenCore Legacy Patcher?
·
How do I know if my Mac is compatible with OpenCore Legacy Patcher?
What should I do If my Mac is not on the list?
·
What are the risks of using OpenCore Legacy Patcher?
·
Final Word

OpenCore Legacy Patcher (Made by DALL·E 3)

What is OpenCore Legacy Patcher?

OpenCore Legacy Patcher is a Python-based project revolving around Acidanthera’s OpenCorePkg and Lilu that allows older…

--

--

Saeed Zarinfam

📖 Lifelong Learner 👨‍💻☕️ Programmer ✍️ Technical Writer 🛠️ Maker